Page 1 of 2

Echo Problem

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:04 pm
by lewisba
Peter, thanks for answering my other post regarding muting a call.

FYI - I am using a BlackBerry 9650 (Bold) with PA. PA sees the phone and can dial out and answer calls.

The problem I'm having now is an echo. I have a MacBook Pro with Altec Lansing speakers. When I set PA to speakerphone I'd like the audio-out to go through those speakers. I've tried setting the audio-in to the MacBook's built-in mic, and external Logitech USB mic, and the mic on the BlackBerry. All three produce an echo. Any suggestions?

-Brad

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Mon Sep 27, 2010 6:42 pm
by psichel_adm
I don't know of an easy way to suppress the echo using software. Is there any way you might use a headset for sound, or the speaker phone built-in to your phone itself?

Kind Regards,

- Peter

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Sun Jan 16, 2011 6:51 am
by floh
hi all

@peter
maybe there is a way by checking the skype code... skype has an automatic echo suppresion somehow... just as an idea to start

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Tue Jan 18, 2011 12:14 pm
by psichel_adm
Skype is big on audio processing, but I believe their code is proprietary. I'm sure there are ways to handle echo suppression in software, but I'm not an expert at this yet :-)

- Peter

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Fri Feb 25, 2011 11:59 am
by psichel_adm
I did find some echo suppression code (Speex) that's available under useable license terms, so I'm working on integrating this with Phone Amego as a Core Audio plug-in.

- Peter

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Fri Mar 18, 2011 2:59 pm
by pauls
Hello,

Currently I have the same issue with Phone Amego, that being I can't use it due to the echo.

I use a broadcast quality microphone, EV RE20, with a cardioid pattern, so it should be getting less of an echo versus an Omni mic on a computer at my volume levels.

As an example, I also use Skype all day everyday and have no echo issues.
I have noticed an echo when people use Skype and use the internal mic and speakers, but I get no complaints from people when using my broadcast equipment when speaking through Skype.

This leads me to believe that something else is involved here versus coming up with some sort of a echo suppression system, although I would assume that would also help. Without being able to visually see or record all the different streams from Core Audio I don't know.

I am willing to work with you to understand where this echo is coming from and help test if it benefits you.

Is it safe to assume the sound is coming from the proper audio device, that being input 1 on my multichannel audio card, http://www.mhlabs.com - 2882, and could a core audio device with multiple streams cause an issue. This was also the case with Skype in the beginning.

Please let me know if you need anything. Peter, I sent you an email per our last conversation.

It looks like you resolved my first issue when you rolled 1.2.20.
Unfortunately my test version expires in a day.

Regards,

Paul Stephenson

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Sat Jun 15, 2013 4:29 pm
by psichel_adm
Phone Amego 1.4.12 includes Acoustic Echo Suppression. Enjoy!

- Peter

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:43 am
by astagl
Psichel,

Thanks so much for adding in the echo suppression; unfortunately, it does not work for me. My callers say all they hear is themselves talking back to them and it is god-awful.

I'm just using the standard macbook speakers and microphone. This is really a bummer, because all I want is the ability to answer my phone via my mac. :(

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 12:11 pm
by psichel_adm
Make sure you select the desired input (built-in mic) and output (built-in speaker) explicitly under the More tab of Phone Amego. I've heard from one other user that this allowed the echo suppression to kick in. It may depend on how you have assigned the "default devices".

You can actually see echo suppression working in the Debug Log is PA turns Mic Mute on and off.

Echo suppression isn't ideal, but it may be workable until I can add full echo cancellation.

Kind Regards,

- Peter

Re: Echo Problem

PostPosted: Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:20 pm
by tobias
Hi Peter

It seems that since you introduced echo suppression, I have only echo. I run v 1.4.15 on a MBPro on OSX 10.8.4. I use a Logitech USB headset and two BT mobile phones. I have used this setup without change since I bought PA in January this year. Since the introduction of echo suppression, I experience echo on both phones, irrespective of whether the suppression is turned on or off. It makes PA virtually unusable. Is there anything I can do in terms of testing to assist you to fix this (I am an advanced user)?

Best regards
Tobias