Page 1 of 1

Sending pause to bluetooth phone

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 1:54 pm
by santiago
Hello, I have tried to send a pause while dialing a bluetooth phone. I have used a comma (,) to insert a pause, as instructed in the Phone Amego documentation, but it does not work. Only the number before the comma is sent to the bluetooth phone, the numbers after the comma don't go through the phone. Can a pause be sent to bluetooth phones? or is it just suported for lan lines? Any clue or help would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance.

Re: Sending pause to bluetooth phone

PostPosted: Tue Mar 20, 2012 4:41 pm
by psichel_adm
>Hello, I have tried to send a pause while dialing a bluetooth phone.

Why are you trying to send a pause to a Bluetooth phone? What do you hope to accomplish?

> I have used a comma (,) to insert a pause, as instructed in the Phone Amego documentation,

Can you clarify where it says that? I believe some USB modems recognize "," in a dial string to mean a pause. I don't know if Bluetooth phones do this.

> but it does not work. Only the number before the comma is sent to the bluetooth phone, the numbers after the comma don't go through the phone.

Phone Amego has a Debug Log you can enable under the More tab to show the data exchange with your telephone device. Can you send this to me? Since you are looking for detailed one-on-one technical support, direct Email might be easier (this forum has many subscribers).

Kind Regards,

- Peter

Re: Sending pause to bluetooth phone

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 1:30 pm
by santiago
Peter, thank you very much for your quick response. Finally I figured it out myself. It seems like a uppercase letter 'P' is the character that my bluetooth phone (Siemens Gigaset S800) uses to insert a pause, so using 'P' instead ',' made the trick.
This might be useful for someone else. It seems like not all phones understand a comma ',' as a trigger to insert a pause, so you should read the user manual of your phone to learn which is the character that triggers a dial pause, then using that character in Phone Amego.
In this case I had to key in Phone Amego something like this: 1234567P1234 (instead of 1234567,1234)

Re: Sending pause to bluetooth phone

PostPosted: Fri Mar 23, 2012 6:36 pm
by psichel_adm
Thanks for the followup. Depending on where you enter a dial string, Phone Amego may try to reformat a displayed telephone number to remove non-dialing characters like parenthesis or hyphen. If you encounter a case where it is removing a dialing character incorrectly, I should be able to fix that based on the Debug Log showing the data exchange between Phone Amego and your device.

My intent is to allow SIP-URI dialing which means an Email address could be a valid Internet phone number.

- Peter