Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Forum to share information about Phone Amego and get help to answer your questions

Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Sat Jun 13, 2015 12:13 pm

After some fiddling with the configuration, the Caller ID part of Amego works with a newly set-up T42G.

Dialing on the other hand does not work. Any ideas? Did the URL that Amego has to use change again?

Status quo: Amego lists the T42G under 'Telephone Devices'. Dialing does not work whether username and password are set or not. Features / Remote Control / Action URI allow IP List is populated.

Firmware: 29.73.0.50

On a side note: Amego shows the dialing dialogue whether the phone actually dials or not. That is somewhat unsatisfying.
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby psichel_adm » Wed Jun 17, 2015 8:00 pm

The User Guide page on Yealink phones shows the URL used to dial in some detail.
I would try getting your phone to dial by sending the same URL directly from your web browser.

This way you can see the response if any from your phone, try as many variations as you like, and check in the Yealink forums for help.

If you can find a combination that works, I'll be glad to update Phone Amego accordingly. My guess is you don't have the correct IP address of your phone, or we're overlooking some setting at your phone. Once you send the phone the correct URL from a trusted IP, it should work. Notice the trusted IP must be in dotted quad format.

Can you Email me directly showing how the trusted IP list is populated, and the IP address of both your phone and your Mac by taking appropriate screen snapshots.

Kind Regards,

- Peter
psichel_adm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:49 pm

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Thu Jun 18, 2015 5:32 am

Hi Peter, I identified the problem: You use http:// (and http:// only) while I have http:// blocked on phone since https:// is available. Using http://, dialing works fine, however, as a standard practice, it shouldn't be necessary to use http:// if https:// is available IMHO.

Any chance for an update (or maybe there's already a configuration option I've overlooked)?

(In any case: Your app is the only Mac App that allows for Called ID and dialing without too much hassle in spite of the challenging environment of SIP phones!)
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby psichel_adm » Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:46 am

Sure, I can update this to use https:// as long as testing shows it works reliably.

KInd Regards,

- Peter
psichel_adm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:49 pm

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Thu Jun 25, 2015 9:07 am

Using the URL, https:// seems to work reliably. On the other hand, I am not sure how many Yealink users have SSL actually enabled. It's of course best practice but as with many things … maybe http:// could be the default for the moment with an option to use https://.
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby psichel_adm » Fri Jun 26, 2015 11:52 am

Did you have to enable SSL explicitly at the phone? (I'm not at my office with the Yealink phone).

What about notifications from the phone to your Mac? To run a local https server is a bit more complicated.

Kind Regards,

- Peter
psichel_adm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:49 pm

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Wed Jul 08, 2015 7:13 am

psichel_adm wrote:Did you have to enable SSL explicitly at the phone? (I'm not at my office with the Yealink phone).


Yep: Network / Advanced / Web Server / HTTPS. As far as I remember, SSL was not enabled by default. (I enable SSL by default if available.)

psichel_adm wrote:What about notifications from the phone to your Mac? To run a local https server is a bit more complicated.


That's of course a valid point!
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Wed Sep 23, 2015 9:14 am

With another (new) Yealink SIP telephone, I cannot get Phone Amego do dial numbers and I have not been able to identify the issue.

Dialing by directly entering the URL in the browser for example works, i.e., remote control is enabled on the telephone.

Example URL (working): http://[IP address]/servlet?number=888

Phone Amego asks for username and password, afterwards, nothing happens on the telephone … :(
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby chmars » Thu Sep 24, 2015 7:46 am

PS: When I dial by entering the URL in the browser, no username and password are requested, i.e., they are not necessary.
chmars
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Jun 13, 2015 11:58 am

Re: Yealink T42G: Dialing?

Postby psichel_adm » Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:36 pm

You can use the Phone Amego Debug Log to see exactly what Phone Amego is sending to your phone. What's different?

You can modify the URL Phone Amego sends to your phone in the corresponding configuration file if desired. Phone Amego asks for a username and password when the server on the phone requests an authentication challenge.

Kind Regards,

- Peter
psichel_adm
Site Admin
 
Posts: 463
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 7:49 pm

Next

Return to Phone Amego

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron